No-Confidence Motion

No-Confidence Motion

News: Recently, Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla accepted the Opposition’s no confidence motion against the Government.

What is a No-confidence motion?
• Article 75 of the Constitution says that the council of ministers shall be collectively responsible to the Lok Sabha.
• A No Confidence Motion is a parliamentary procedure used to test the government’s support and majority in the legislature.
• Lok Sabha can remove the ministry from office by passing a no-confidence motion (NCM). The motion needs the support of 50 members.
• A no confidence motion can only be moved in the Lok Sabha.

Who brought the Motion and why?
• The motion was brought to the House by Congress Party MP Gaurav Gogoi amidst the Opposition’s ongoing protests demanding a statement on the situation in Manipur from Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

What is the procedure for moving a NCM?
• A member must submit a written notice before 10 AM, supported by at least 50 members. The Speaker sets a date for discussion within 10 days.

How is NCM different from Censure motion?

Censure Motion NCM
It should state the reasons for its adoption in the Lok Sabha.Lok Sabha. It need not state the reasons for its adoption in the Lok Sabha.
It can be moved against individual ministers or group of ministers or the entire council of ministers.It can be moved against the entire council of ministers only.
It is moved for censuring the COM for specific policies and actions.It is moved for ascertaining the confidence of Lok Sabha in the council of ministers.
If it is passed in the LS, the COM need not resign from the office.It is passed in the LS, the COM must resign from office.

Some interesting facts regarding NCM over the years:
• It was during the third Lok Sabha in 1963 that the first motion of no confidence was moved by Acharya J B Kripalani against the government headed by Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru.
• 27 no-confidence motions have been introduced in Lok Sabha since independence and none has passed.
• A total of 12 NCM were initiated against Indira Gandhi when she was PM between 1966 and 1975. In total 15 including her tenure between 1975 and 1981.

DICS Branches

Our Branches

DICS Ahmedabad


(Head Office)

Address : 506, 3rd EYE THREE (III), Opp. Induben Khakhrawala, Girish Cold Drink Cross Road, CG Road, Navrangpura, Ahmedabad, 380009.

Mobile : 8469231587 / 9586028957

Telephone : 079-40098991



Address: A-306, The Landmark, Urjanagar-1, Opp. Spicy Street, Kudasan – Por Road, Kudasan, Gandhinagar – 382421

Mobile : 9723832444 / 9723932444


DICS Vadodara


Address: 2nd Floor, 9 Shivali Society, L&T Circle, opp. Ratri Bazar, Karelibaugh, Vadodara, 390018

Mobile : 9725692037 / 9725692054


DICS Surat


Address: 403, Raj Victoria, Opp. Pal Walkway, Near Galaxy Circle, Pal, Surat-394510

Mobile : 8401031583 / 8401031587


DICS New Delhi

New Delhi(In Association with Edge IAS)

Address: 57/17, 2nd Floor, Old Rajinder Nagar Market, Bada Bazaar Marg, Delhi-60

Mobile : 9104830862 / 9104830865